Love Poems!

Thomas has sent me the greatest love poem ever!

A trip to  the Tienda

and I absolutely love it! No greater poem was ever wrtten!  Ever! I could not be happier. 

 

A Trip to the Tienda

              By Thomas Robert Higinson

                   for Vashti

You are my rent-a-poem

You are love jungle — Yoyo, hula hoop!

You are my closing costs

My plasma vibrator my single malt

You? You are my Tampa manatee

You are my Occupy

You are an eucalyptus octopus

And a haircut on an autumn day

Also submarine. Surreality check.

You you…! You YOU you!

That’s who. The Temple of Shenanigans,

AKA Shenanigan Temple.

The complete works. The leftovers.

You are what I’ve been waiting for

And now I’ll never wait anymore.

Dream baby, you are, and indefatigable,

That, too. And you are the cream in my coffee,

And you are the one, and you are my everything,

And you are everything I could hope for.

And still you are more, and still you keep coming,

You are coming like a river, like a torrent,

Like an all day-lollipop where every day is today.

You are the Castle of Doubt on the Plain of Forgetfulness.

You are one more and able to laugh it off.

My sunshine, that’s what you are.

A rocking chair and a band-aid. Violin castanets.

An elusive perfume. You are all history. You are

Breakfast and you are on your way and all

I can do is list, name, and hand out passports.

Because you are who you are in a way that is all

Your way and which, as a poet trying to set it down,

Failure, I am a failure in that you will always be

Something to me both bedrock and ineluctable,

A passion of opposition and an unchecked probity

Of Probability and yet a chemical formula not to be

Tested. The Higgs bosun, that’s it exactly. A gluon.

A ramshackle melody. A forgotten memory that

Never happened and when all is said and done,

Actually nothing was said and nothing was done.

That’s why I keep writing endlessly penning, because that’s

Who you are and when I stop, Surprise, you are

The surprise, you are the inching to the summit,

The chocolate razor, the tadpole’s pole and the

Gate to the Fields of the Lord. I sing you praises and

The answer is more like a light fog saxophone, a

Kingdom Come revelation, a hunch that blossoms

To birth a new species. An appointment for lunch.

Some nectar in a tube, a pillow. Like the new language you

Are, if I could write that I would, you in a race car,

A pendulum, a fire tower, a blimp. A pothole, narcissus,

An a capella cantabile, a big bucket of milk. I can run alongside

You but can’t keep up with you, your tapdancing

Shadow, your clothing made of earth and spit. But I know you

And when you wish me Happy Birthday I trade it for yours,

You not growing old, you everlasting, you infinity you.

 

BITMOJI BOB

___________

 

I wrote a response poem to his poem:

obvious title:

A First Response to “A Trip to the Tienda[i]

 

for Thomas Robert Higginson

 

 

My alpha and omega poem

braided into my hair

 

that falls into the poem like breezes,

that falls into you

acrobatic atmospheres

 

homecoming, prom

 

this poem

 

these bosons of alphabet

 

form my prom, my graduation,

 

valedictory address, where I live now, really

 

live, as if for the first time

 

(inside you)

 

my sense of direction, elevation

 

slow home-cooked meal

 

—poetry food —

 

indulgence, cure for every disease

 

including religion: church of me,

 

apron, radon shield,

 

spikes of hair, double helixes of braids,

words of the poem expand, latch

 

onto proteins of my hair, food poetry

 

chromosomes of a new child incubating

 

in margins: complete peptides

 

perfect matches, IDEAL genetic codes

 

pearls, apologies, endless apologies

 

to the fine poet who wrote this

 

for me, my doppelgänger —

 

my poetry food,

nourishment, sustenance, one-a-day,

one every day

 

each of your arms is a stanza,

each hair on your body is punctuation

 

:placing us together:

 

compass needles pointing to lovers,

 

science of poetry,

 

Thomas Robert Higginson becoming true north

 

somehow resisting magnetic north

 

to be

my gateway to bliss

 

kept for too long undercover.

 

This monument

 

this testament

 

is forever, and acted out religiously,

 

ideally

 

and perfectly

 

in a single windy city weekend

 

 

[i] Published, in slightly different form in Black Renaissance Noir

 

Ain’t love grand?

 

valentine-bitmoji-vashti-06

Read both of these poems in New Kiss Horizon  by Thylias Moss 

Cover of NKH

 

 

Here’s info on acquiring this book, perfect for Valentine’s Day:

New Kiss Horizon” links:

Link to “New Kiss Horizon” on Smashwords:

https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/683373

Link to “New Kiss Horizon” paperback on Amazon:

https://www.amazon.com/New-Kiss-Horizon-Thylias-Moss/dp/1540584496

Link to “New Kiss Horizon” Kindle book on Amazon:

https://www.amazon.com/New-Kiss-Horizon-Thylias-Moss-ebook/dp/B01N1K0PLC

Link to Thylias Moss Amazon writer page:

https://www.amazon.com/Thylias-Moss/e/B001JSBOQQ

Vashtis Blog (narrator of NKH, maintaining a blog so that readers may keep in touch with developments in the character’s life beyond the book:

Vashti’s blog URL:

https://vashtisblog.wordpress.com/

 

Leave a Reply

